The First of the Harvest

There’s a lot going on in the garden these days. New plants are going in daily, and the cool weather crops are being harvested.

18673058_1662144953813741_7842727305636363512_o

My Holmes Royal Radishes are coming up and oh do they taste delicious. This is my first time growing radishes. It is not what I expect and in the future, I will be planting A LOT more than the handful I planted this year. But that’s the great thing about having a three season garden – fall is just around the corner.

I was also able to harvest my first round of spinach this week. Spinach is my favorite leafy green (at least so far). Also a first-year crop, I went with slow to bolt varieties in hopes that I could continue stagger planting through the summer and into the fall. We will see. At least for now, I am happy to enjoy my fresh spinach in my favorite seasonal salads.

Leave a Reply

