8 Newly Planted Beauties

My nursery is quickly running out of space and I’m starting to get this overwhelming feeling of despair.

The end is near! Or rather the beginning. My nursery has kept what were once little seedlings and now flourished plants, alive for weeks. They are eager to get outside and I’m eager to get them there, especially with my new batch of seedlings emerging from their shells.

Black Beauty Zucchini

My first year growing zucchini and I am impressed with this variety. It sprouted quickly and is growing strong.

Black Beauty is an heirloom, a 1957 All-America Selections winner. It is a fast-growing plant that will continue to produce abundantly throughout the summer if kept picked.

Amish Melon

An organic muskmelon with fruits that grow 9 inches and weigh between 4 and 6 pounds. Mature in 80 to 90 days.

Sweet Granite Melon

An early variety (which is why I selected it) well suited for direct seeding in far northern, coastal, and mountain climates. The fruit is oblong and weighs 2 to 3 pounds, making them ideal for a vertical garden.

Butternut-Waltham Squash

I grew this squash last year and fell in love with it. Excellent yields with great flavor.

Lemon Squash

A quick maturing squash, the fruit look like lemons. It has huge yields and is resistant to insects. Great fried.

Sugar Baby Watermelon

Because I’m growing vertically, I am very limited on the types of watermelon I can grow. The sugar baby is the perfect size and weight (although it will need netting supporting as the fruits grow larger). An icebox-sized melon weighing 6 to 10 pounds. They are great for northern climates and have a sweet, deep red flesh that is delicious!

Scarlet Nantes Carrot

IMG_9535.jpg

Daffodils are in bloom which means the carrots can go in the ground! This year I’ve selected a red-orange variety known as Scarlet Nantes. Great flavor, nearly coreless, and good to use for baby carrots. The cylindrical roots grow to 7 inches and they store well.

Holmes Royal Red Radish

Also joining the garden are radishes. This is my first year growing a radish of any variety, so I went with a simple, traditional radish. Round with red skin and white flesh, highly uniform and roughly 1.25 inches in diameter.

This radish can be planted throughout the summer, providing multiple harvests.

Leave a Reply

