Deep Mulching

Today I was lucky enough to spend the entire day working in the garden. And I mean working. My mulch arrived yesterday!

I read about Deep Mulching on The Prairie Homestead blog a few years ago and have wanted to try it since. Normally by the fall I’m exhausted from the garden and my busy season as a landscape photographer is kicking off. It does not leave much time for mulching.

So instead of waiting for that fall clean up, I decided to do a deep mulch in the spring. Yes, the weeds have already begun to grow but my husband had a solution for that. Fire.

17880091_1617365364958367_8636156389965198529_o

Once he felt confident that he had burned many of the weeds, I took over and started mulching. Six yards of mulch later, I went from this…

IMG_9436

To this…IMG_9438

Not a bad way to spend a Saturday.

Leave a Reply

