Planting Seeds: Spinach

Three days ago, we received about 4 inches of snow. Yesterday and today it hit the 70’s. Oh, Michigan. How I love this state.

The sunny skies got me out of the house and into the garden. I worked on my layout, made sure my structure designs will work, and my personal favorite, planted spinach.

IMG_9412 I am stagger planting two different types of spinach; Bloomsdale and Nobel. Bloomsdale is a slow to bolt, fast growing variety with a high yield. It has excellent flavor. Nobel is also a slow bolt and has large leaves that are tasty for fresh eating but also a great choice for canning or freezing.

I cannot wait for those little plants to pop up and for that first harvest. I love eating spinach. It is my favorite leafy green and I have a recipe list full with ideas of ways to use those delicious plants.

Leave a Reply

