Ready, Set, Peppers!

It’s happily that time of year where my peppers have been planted (indoors) and are hopefully germinating at this moment.

I have found that peppers require a little bit more TLC than most of the other plants I’ve grown from seeds. It’s sometimes touch and go for the first few weeks. But once they take off, they really take off.

Once the soil is wet and the seeds are planted just under the surface, I immediately put them inside of the humidity dome and have them sitting on a heating mat. While this method can work well for many other plants, I have found it necessary for peppers.

Peppers like it hot, germinating around 80F.

King of the North

These peppers grow blocky, uniform fruits that have a great sweet flavor. They are excellent for stuffing or fresh eating. They are a good variety for cool, short growing seasons, maturing 70 days from transplant.

Banana Pepper

This is a classic sweet pepper and a favorite of my husband’s. They have tapered fruits that reach 6 to 7 inches long and are 2 inches wide. They ripen quickly to a red-orange color. They are excellent for pickling, stuffing, or in salads.

Golden Treasure

peppers

Nine inch long fruits, the Golden Treasures ripen to a shiny yellow color. They have tender skins and are sweet. They are excellent for frying, roasting, and fresh eating. They mature 80 days from transplant. These were great in my garden last year.

2 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Peppers!

  1. It’s so interesting to see what peppers everyone grows. And each year it is interesting to see which peppers sprout quickly, and which are pokey. This year, my slowest are the Sweet Red Cherry peppers, that I love to stuff raw or pickled for an appetizer. Last year they were quicker than the jalapeno, this year not. Putting them on a heating mat is really worth it for the great germination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t that interesting? All seeds are created individually, that’s for sure. Some can be very stubborn. What type of Jalapeno’s do you grow?

      I could never get my seeds to germinate without the heating pad. I even put them under a heat lamp one year and no go. I haven’t see any seedlings pop up yet but I’m keeping a close eye on them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

