For the Love of Bees!

My latest project revolves around those buzzing beauties; the bees.  The struggling population needs all the help it can get.

Little did I know that some of the herbs I’ve been growing over the last few years are already a favorite of the bee. Plus the vegetable garden brought in quite the crowd last year. This made it a little bit easier to pick out some new plants for my dream flower and herb garden.

The best part is not only do many of these help bees, but also butterflies and birds.

 

Herbs I have

  • English Lavender (a bee favourite)
  • White Sage (a bee favourite)
  • Chamomile

Herbs I’m growing

  • Valerian
  • Chamomile
  • Rosemary
  • Yarrow
  • White Horehound

Flowers in the Garden

  • Prairie Red Milkweed
  • Arikara Sunflower
  • Forget-Me-Not
  • Siberian Wallflower
  • California Orange Poppy
  • Purple Coneflower
  • Aster
  • Coreopsis
  • Corn Poppy
  • Blue Flax
  • Baby Blue Eyes
  • Tidy Tips
  • Globe Gilia
  • Indian Blanket
  • Plains Coreopsis
  • Tall White Sweet Aylssum
  • Lavender Hyssop
  • Fleabane Daisy
  • New England Aster
  • Bergamont

I had a difficult time finding seeds for the flowers I wanted and ended up going with the Bee Feed Mix, from Seed Savers Exchange.

Flowers that were missing that I hope to have in the future include:

  • Blue Lobelia (Lobelia siphilitica)
  • Riddell’s Goldenrod (Solidago riddelli)
  • Yellow Giant Hyssop (Agastache nepetoides)
  • Culver’s Root (Veronicastrum virginicum)
  • Wild Geranium

These plants are some of the ones recommended to me by my local extension office. There are a wide list of plants and flowers available, but this is a good start.

 Additionals

Learning about setting up a bee garden has been a lengthy and fascinating process that I’m not even close to completely. As of now, from what I understand, in addition to the flowers I will need:

  • A bee watering hole
  • Bee hotel (not required but helpful)
  • Fence (to keep the pups out)
Leave a Reply

