White Spotty Leaves

I noticed some white, fuzzy-like spots on the leaves of my butter squash plants. They weren’t growing as well as I would have liked, and I was pretty sure this was connected.

I was right.

After some research, I discovered that it’s mostly like caused by mildew from our high humidity and wind-less days. Good news is I caught it quickly and implemented a solution.

I purchased a spray bottle and made a water and baking soda mixture. I sprayed the infected leaves every day (in the early morning or late evening) for about two weeks. By the end of the second week, my plants were mildew free and had a growth spur.

I’ve been keeping an eye out for a return but so far haven’t had any problems. I highly recommend giving this a shot if you have any signs of mildew on your plants.

The formula is a mixture of 1 tablespoon baking soda to 1 gallon of water. 

Leave a Reply

