The Nursery

The official start of the growing season is less than a week away and I can’t wait! My nursery is prepped and waiting eagerly for the first batch of seedlings.

The nursery is set up in a corner in my kitchen, out of the way from the heavy traffic of my dogs and away the appliances, especially the stove, which might cause sudden environmental changes. I am using a simple, plastic shelving unit with four shelves that can hold up to 15 plants each.

Each shelf has a towel across it help insulate the plants as well as a grow light mounted in a way that it can be adjusted as the plants grow.

For containers, I’m planting my seeds in well cleaned bottles. Last year I collected several 2 liter bottles and sliced them in half to create containers that can hold my plants until they need to go in the ground. I drilled several holes in the bottom to provide adequate drainage and as an experiment, lined someone of them with black and white newspaper to see if that improved the health and growth rate of the plants. It didn’t seem to make a difference.

I’m filling my containers with FoxFarm Ocean Forest Potting Soil, which I’ve never used before but have been testing out with my indoor herb garden and it seems to be working pretty well.

My March seeds are primarily herbs, including; chamomile, lavender, rosemary, thyme, oregano, echinacea, and mustard. Here’s to a happy and exciting growing season!

 

Leave a Reply

