Seeds – Check!

My seeds are on the way! Here’s the breakdown of where I purchased my seeds and why.

Seed Savers Exchange

I was very impressed by the selection of organic and non-GMO seeds that Seed Savers Exchange had. With good prices and great reviews, it was easy to get everything I was looking for. Plus they offer helpful growing information on their website for each plant.

Seed Savers Exchange Website

Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company

I ordered seeds from Baker Creek last year and was quite impressed with the quality. They offer 1,400 heirloom varieties and “only sell open-pollinated seeds: pure, natural & non-GMO”. It’s a great option if you’re looking for some not so traditional plants as well.

Baker Creek Heirloom Seed Company Website

Urban Farmer

Urban Farmer is a company based out of Westfield, Indiana. I’ve never used them before but they had great reviews. They are a fairly new company, starting in 2008.  They sell organic seeds and, I quote “We do NOT and never will see GMO seeds.” And they actually had the type of peanut I was looking for!

Urban Farmer Website

Local Shops

For some reason I can’t grow cucumbers from seed. Every time I try, the plants never do well. Because of this and until I figure out why, I’ve been buying my cucumbers from a local greenhouse; Horrock’s. This year I’ll also be adding Raspberries to my garden and will hopefully be purchasing those plants at Horrock’s as well.

Leave a Reply

