The Layout!

After days of researching and staring at garden plans, plants and last year’s growing notes, I’ve finally put together a layout for my 2016 garden that I think will work out much better. Some key points I considered when thinking about the layout are:

  • How do I utilize more of my space? Do I really need large aisles?
  •  Implement a better planting method for the strawberries
  • How can I utilize companion plants?
  • Keep in mind crop rotations. What will next year’s garden look like and will I have enough space to move things around?

Another thing I took into consideration, and possibly one of the most important things, was which plants do I want to plant and how many of them can I plant with the room I have? Here’s the final count.

  • DeCicco Broccoli, 8 plants
  • Bloomdale Spinach, 21 plants staggered
  • Cosmic Purple Carrots, 60 plants staggered
  • Danvers Carrots, 60 plants staggered
  • Desiree Potatoes, 5 plants
  • Early Snowball Cauliflower, 3 plants
  • Golden Treasure Pepper, 1 plant
  • Jalapeno Traveler Strain, 1 plant
  • Aurora Pepper, 1 plant
  • Siberian Tomato, 2 plants
  • Martino’s Roma Tomato, 2 plants
  • Marketmore Cucumbers, 6 plants
  • Black Valentine Green Beans, 4 plants
  • Calypso Bean, 2 plants
  • Lazy Wife Bean, 2 plants
  • Oregon Sugar Peas, 24 plants staggered
  • Chesnok Red Garlic, 10 plants
  • Cantaloupe, 1 plant
  • Lavender, 2 plants (I already have one)
  • Chamomile, 2 plants
  • White Sage, 2 plants
  • Rosemary, 3 plants
  • Dill, 2 plants
  • Raspberries (not sure which variety yet), 2 plants
  • Valencia Peanut, 7 plants
  • Peppermint, 2 plants (I already have one)

And here’s the layout that I put together, using the Old Farmer’s Almanac Garden Planner

2016-garden

I’m pretty proud with how everything came together on “paper” and am looking forward to the next steps. Off to do some research on compost and compost bins!

 

Leave a Reply

